Kerstin Lindblad-Toh has together with Leif Andersson received this year's The Björkén Prize


Kerstin Lindblad-Toh, Professor of Comparative Genomics, has, together with Leif Andersson, Professor of Function Genome, been appointed as the recipient of the Björkén Prize, Uppsala University's finest scientific prize.

The Björkén Prize is one of Uppsala University's largest scientific prizes for outstanding research. It was first published in 1902.

Kerstin Lindblad-Toh is a professor of comparative genomics (studies of the entire genome of different species / organisms), with a background in human genetics and sequencing and Leif Andersson is a professor of functional genomics. They receive the prize for their respective contributions to new basic knowledge about the inheritance and evolution of vertebrate animals, as well as genetic mechanisms that affect the characteristics of individuals and their risk of developing disease. Both in common and in parallel, they have driven the thesis that comparative genetics and genome contribute important knowledge about species, leading to increased understanding of evolutionary mechanisms and human characteristics and diseases.

Several of their work is about sequencing the entire genome for different species of vertebrates and then posing important biological issues, either by comparing populations or species. These studies span a wide range, from the sillars and spikes' adaptation to brackish and freshwater, to the evolution of the Darwin finches. Studies of hereditary variation in pets have led to the discovery of unknown biological phenomena, such as a mutation that increases the mass of pigs in pigs but is likely to affect most mammals. Many different types of mutations have been identified.

Leif Andersson and Kerstin Lindblad-Toh have both played a major role in developing genomics into a profile area in Uppsala and Sweden.

The prize is awarded at the winter promotion in January.

Read more:

About the Björkén Prize and former prize winners

Leif Andersson's research group

Kerstin Lindblad-Toh's research group